find your secret place

The University of Johannesburg (UJ) is one of the largest residential universities in South Africa and seeks to achieve the highest distinction in scholarship and research within the higher education context. It is equally committed to excellence in all aspects of teaching and learning and community engagement.

UJ’s unique academic architecture reflects a comprehensive range of learning programmes, leading to a variety of qualifications, from vocational and traditional academic to professional and postgraduate. Enrolment at UJ is capped at 48 000.


  • Art, Design and Architecture 
  • Economic and Financial Sciences 
  • Education 
  • Engineering and the Built Environment 
  • Health Sciences 
  • Humanities 
  • Law 
  • Management 
  • Science 

All faculties offer both undergraduate and postgraduate programmes.


  • Auckland Park Kingsway (APK) 
  • Auckland Park Bunting Road (APB) 
  • Doornfontein (DFC) 
  • Soweto (SWC) 

The campuses vary in size and each has its own character and culture contributing to the institution's rich diversity. A fifth campus, the East Rand Campus, is not in operation at the moment.

Vision, Mission & Goals


  • An international university of choice, anchored in Africa, dynamically shaping the future


  • Inspiring its community to transform and serve humanity through innovation and the collaborative pursuit of knowledge


  • Be an engaged university
  • Build a reputable brand
  • Conduct internationally competitive research
  • Cultivate a culture of transformation
  • Ensure institutional efficiency and effectiveness
  • Focus on the Gauteng city regions
  • Maximise its intellectual capital
  • Offer the preferred student experience
  • Promote excellence in teaching and learning
  • Secure and grow competitive resourcing


  • Bernadette Coston (SA female Olympic field hockey player) 
  • Chris Froome (2013 winner of Tour de France) 
  • Irvette van Zyl (SA Olympic)
  • Shireen Sapiro (SA Paralympic Swimmer) 
  • Zibusiso Mkhwanazi (SA Digital Entrepreneur & CEO of Avatar) 


The institute was established in 2005 and is the product of the incorporation of the Soweto and East Rand campuses of Vista University into the Rand Afrikaans University (RAU) and the merger of RAU with the Technikon of Witwatersrand (TWR).

This restructuring by the Department of Education turned 36 universities and technikons into 23 higher education institutions between 2002 and 2004.

Created: ; Last updated: