ontdek jou geheime plek

 The Tygerberg Campus houses the Faculty of Medicine of Stellenbosch University and is situated in the northern suburbs of Cape Town. It is situated 35 km from the main Campus of SU in Stellenbosch and only 20 km from the Centre of Cape Town City. It is well positioned only 10 minutes drive from International airport.

The Campus consists of a Clinical Building, the Fisan Building and a Teaching Block. Tygerberg Academic Hospital forms part of this campus and can be found on the campus itself.


  • Library
  • Skills laboratory 
  • Five halls of residence for students,
  • International student accommodation
  • A students' centre with a cafeteria
  • Laboratories
  • Sports fields
  • Campus health services and a well-equipped gymnasium, and also the Mankadan lodge for visitors.
  • Van Schaik bookstore
  • The computer users area, FMHSCUA has 148 computers, 121 in 2 multifunction laboratory/e-classroom facilities, 26 in aother e-classroom, and the rest in a room that provides specialised services like CD/DVD burning and colour printing and scanning. 


The Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences of Stellenbosch University is recognized as an indispensable leader in the field of health sciences in Africa and for the contribution it makes internationally.


The Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences of Stellenbosch University is committed to the goal of optimal health in Southern Africa by:

  • Developing within a learning culture independent professionals who can make a worthwhile contribution to the community;
  • Contributing to new knowledge in the field of health sciences by means of research relevant to Africa;
  • Benefiting the broader community by means of participation and service.


  • A quest for excellence
  • Accountability
  • Commitment
  • Integrity


  • International Students Lodge
  • 5 Residences for under-graduates 

Notable mention

The Medical Morphology Museum has on display a large series of exibits for the development of the Allied Health Sciences students. School groups and the public are also welcome to visit this museum with over 1300 specimens.

Centres & Units

  • Brain Imaging Centre (CUBIC)
  • Evidence-based Health Care
  • Health Professions Education
  • Infectious Diseases
  • Medical Ethics and Law
  • Rehabilitation Studies
  • Desmond Tutu TB Centre
  • Hyperbaric Medicine
  • Mental Health Information Centre
  • Pharmacology / Toxicology
  • Poison Information Centre
  • Infection Prevention and Control
  • ​Research on Health and Society
  • Anaesthesiology and Critical Care
  • Paediatrics and Child Health 
  • Psychiatry
  • Obstetrics & Gynaecology
  • Biomedical Sciences with divisions
  • Anatomy & Histology
  • Medical Physiology
  • Molecular Biology & Human Genetics
  • Surgical Sciences with divisions
  • Surgery, Cardiothoracic Surgery
  • Neurosurgery, Ophthalmology
  • Otorhinolaryngology, Orthopaedic Surgery, Paediatric Surgery
  • Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery
  • Urology
  • Medical Imaging and Clinical Oncology with divisions
  • Nuclear medicine, Radio diagnosis, Radiation Oncology
  • Medical Physics, Medicine with divisions
  • General Internal Medicine
  • Pharmacology, Dermatology
  • Endocrinology, Gastroenterology
  • Infectious diseases, Cardiology
  • Nephrology, Neurology
  • Pulmonology, Rheumatology

Geskep: ; Laas opgedateer: