Découvrir l'Afrique du Sud
Sors ta tête du sable

The University of Pretoria (UP) is one of the largest universities in the country and the foremost research university in South Africa. It is informally known as "Tuks" or "Tukkies" which came about while it was called the Transvaal University College.

UP is administered from the main Hatfield campus and has 6 other campuses in addition to several sites like the Pretoria Academic Hospital, the Experimental Farm and the L.C. de Villiers sport facilities.

1 800 academic programmes are offered at this university, most of which are given in both English and Afrikaans. There is also a Business School. 

The University of Pretoria is a leader in the tertiary education field in South Africa and currently has 50 000 students.


 The University's motto is Legaegae, meaning Real Home.


  • Economic & Management Services
  • Education
  • Engineering, Built Environment & IT
  • Gordon Institute of Business Science (GIBS)
  • Health Sciences
  • Humanities
  • Law
  • Natural & Agricultural Sciences
  • Theology
  • Veterinary Science


  • Hatfield 
  • Groenkloof 
  • Mamelodi 
  • Prinshof 
  • Onderstepoort 
  • Sandton (Gordon Institute of Business Science)

There are a number of other sites, including the Hammanskraal Campus and experimental farms. 


To be a leading researchintensive university in Africa, recognised internationally for its quality, relevance and impact, as also for developing people, creating knowledge and making a difference locally and globally.


In pursuing recognition and excellence in its core functions of research, teaching and learning, and integrating engagement with society and communities into these, the University of Pretoria will use quality, relevance, diversity and sustainability as its navigational markers. 


  • Academic freedom, creative and innovative thought ethical standards and integrity, accountability and social justice; and our staff and students as the University’s core asset. 
  • Differing perspectives, arising from diverse backgrounds and histories that define our identities, deepen scholarly inquiry and enrich academic debate. 
  • Knowledge through research, teaching and learning, with membership acquired on the basis of intellectual merit, ability and the potential for excellence; and that


The University of Pretoria celebrated its Centenary in 2008. It started off as a four bedroom house in the Pretoria residential area, called the Kaya Rosa with 4 professors, 3 lecturers and 32 students. The language medium was Dutch and several other modern languages. In 1930 the name changed to University of Pretoria by a decree in parliament, supported by General Jan Smuts.

UP has maintained the status of largest university with the highest research output in the country since 1996. 

Crée: ; Dernière mise à jour: