- Free State
- Paul Roux
Friendly Free State Dorpie
Paul Roux is a very small Free State village situated on the N5 between Bethlehem and Senekal. The town lies in the Sand River Valley, surrounded by typical Eastern Free State sandstone cliffs, the source of the sandstone used in many of the buildings in the town.
Paul Roux has a bit of everything for its visitors – historical sites, natural attractions, arts and crafts and some wonderful hospitality and traditional food and drink. A unique outing for the whole family would be a visit to the Uniondale Farm where visitors can view the Dinosaur Footprints and take a step into the prehistoric past.
If you enjoy the great outdoors then Paul Roux has a wonderful hiking trail just 17 km outside the town, the Holhoek Hiking Trail. Holhoek is the only hiking trail for the disabled where wheelchair access is right to the mountain top.
Paul Roux is a special place where the country life charm ensures this village is the place where you can truly relax! Here you can enjoy an excellent meal, friendly hospitality, beautiful surroundings all day, every day!
Paul Roux has two accommodation establishments, the Dunlin B&B, and the Rosenhof Exclusive Country Lodge.
Things to do and see
- Holhoek Hiking Trail
- Dinosaur Footprints
- Motorbike Dirt Roads
- The Pink Tricycle Shop & Tea Garden
- Arts & Crafts
Paul Roux receives approximately 688 mm of rain annually with most rainfall occurring during Summer.
Summer months, November to March will have average temperatures of between 13˚C and 29˚C.
Winter months, May to August will have average temperatures of between -2˚C and 20˚C.
There are daily flights into the Bram Fischer International Airport, approximately 213 km’s away via the N1 and N5 and the O R Tambo International Airport, approximately 309 km’s away via the N3 and R26. Car hire facilities are available at the Airport.
The town was founded in 1909 on the farm Wassou and named Duplessisvale. It was situated on the old postal stagecoach route between Harrismith and Winburg, serving as a stop for changing the horses. Approximately every 10 km, there was a stop where the postcoach horses were swapped for fresh ones.
Where the current bowling club now stands, there used to be an Inn which belonged to Mr. John Hiscock. It was here where the horses would be changed. A bugle would be blown as the coach came over the hill so that the fresh horses could be harnessed up ready for the exchange; this would thus ensure that no time would be wasted in changing the horses in order for the coach to speed off to the next post station.
On the corner of Van Rooyen and Mark streets stands a large oak tree; it was under this tree the post would be left by the postal coach. There is, to this day, still a servitude which applies to this tree, and it may not be cut or damaged in any way.
In 1911 the newly formed community renamed it after their Minister of the Dutch Reformed Church, Paul Roux. It is said that the community had a choice of two people whom the town could have been named after and the decision was taken by writing their initials on a stone and throwing the stone. We know whose initials came up tops!
Crée: ; Dernière mise à jour: