trouvez votre lieu secret

The University of Cape Town's Groote Schuur Campus can be found in Rondebosch, on the slopes of Devil’s Peak and is the oldest teaching university in South Africa.

The Groote Schuur Campus which is the main campus of UCT is divided into three campuses in close proximity to each other, namely Upper campus, middle and lower campus. The middle and lower campus is separate from the upper campus by the M3 highway and the sports fields.

The current chancellor of UCT is Ms Graça Machel, the widow of former president of South Africa Nelson Mandela.


  • UCT aspires to become a premier academic meeting point between South Africa, the rest of Africa and the world.
  • Taking advantage of expanding global networks and our distinct vantage point in Africa, we are committed, through innovative research and scholarship, to grapple with the key issues of our natural and social worlds.
  • We aim to produce graduates whose qualifications are internationally recognised and locally applicable, underpinned by values of engaged citizenship and social justice. UCT will promote diversity and transformation within our institution and beyond, including growing the next generation of academics.


  • Internationalising UCT via an Afropolitan Niche
  • Transformation of UCT Towards Non-Racialism - Redress, Diversity, Inclusiveness and the Recognition of African Voices
  • Working Towards a Desired Size and Shape for UCT
  • A Vision for the Development of Research at UCT: Greater Impact, Greater Engagement
  • Enhancing the Quality and Profile of UCT's Graduates
  • Expanding and Enhancing UCT's Contribution to South Africa's Development Challenges


UCT offers undergraduate and postgraduate degree programmes and range of undergraduate diplomas and certificates and postgraduate diplomas.

  • Commerce
  • Engineering
  • Humanities
  • Science 

Upper campus

  • Faculties ( as mentioned above)
  • Fuller hall residence
  • Jameson Hall
  • Jammie Plaza - focal point of upper campus
  • Smuts Hall residence
  • The main library

Middle Campus

  • Administrative buildings 
  • Many of UCT's main student residences. 
  • UCT's Law faculty,

Lower campus 

South African College of Music
  • Bachelor of Music: 



Major in Jazz Studies
Major in Music

  • Performance
  • Library & information Science Composition
  • Performer's Diploma in Music
  • Performer's Diploma in Opera
  • Teacher's Licentiate Diploma in Music 

Notable Mention

  • The National Research Foundation (NRF) considered the 32 A rated researchers of UCT world leaders in research.
  • Computer Laboratories have 1 5550 personal computers available to students
  • Access to “teachyourself” courseware and internet access which is becoming wireless. 

Sport & Recreational Activities

  • 35 sports clubs
  • 118 societies
  • Newspaper & Radio


UCT has 39 student residences, houses and flats that cater accommodate over 6 000 students 


Five of the University's graduates have become Nobel Laureates:

  • Max Theiler, virologist ( Physiology or Medicine 1951) 
  • Professor Allan McLeod Cormack (Medicine, 1979)
  • Professor Emeritus J. M. Coetzee (Literature, 2003)
  • Ralph Bunche, American political scientist ( Peace Prize in 1950)
  • Sir Aaron Klug (Chemistry, 1982)


1829 - Started out as a boys school.

1874 – South African college schools were separated from the College

1887 – First male residence in southern Africa, College House Residence, was established,

1918 - Name changed to University of Cape Town when the South African College was raised to full university status 

1928 - UCT moved to the Groote Schuur Estate campus.

Crée: ; Dernière mise à jour: