Simon’s Town is steeped in history and there is no better way to learn more about this interesting naval town than to visit its local museums, starting with the Simon’s Town Museum.
The Museum is housed in “The Residency”, a building built back in 1777 as the winter residence for the Dutch East India Company Governor of the Cape. Originally the Museum was housed in the towns Municipality Complex when it was first opened in 1977, but was moved to this more suitable location in 1982. The building itself has a long history having been used as a hospital, post office, school, police station and magistrate’s court!
The local museum depicts the history of Simon’s Town community, past and present, with an emphasis on the diversity of origins, cultures and religions of its residents. There are various exhibits teaching visitors about the Royal Navy, Churches, Schools, shipwrecks and “The Cells” are open for viewing on request. “The Cells” were built on to “The Residency” most likely as storerooms, but between 1814 and 1940’s was used as jail cells for petty offenders awaiting trial.
The most endearing and popular exhibit it that of “Just Nuisance”. Just Nuisance was a Great Dane dog that befriended Royal Navy Sailors and was buried with full military honours! Come discover his loving story, it alone is worth a visit to the Simon’s Town Museum.
Closed on Sundays & Public Holidays
Prices subject to change, please confirm directly with the Museum
Created: ; Last updated: