find your secret place

Situated in Potchefstroom, the Campus initially drew students from the Afrikaans-speaking community but has become a multilingual, multicultural working and teaching institution. To accommodate the non-Afrikaans students, real-time class interpreting services are used in academic programmes. This has contributed to the ongoing growth of the Potchefstroom Campus.

Being a multi-campus university, the NWU offers students a variety of choices accommodating both their academic and geographic needs. NWU offers 15 academic faculties between the 3 campuses and consists of more than 50 schools. There are also some faculties that offer short courses, skills development, commercial and community based services at centres and institutes.

Many patentable and marketable inventions generated by staff and students through innovativeness have made NWU a sought after partner in various national and international academic and research circles. These include a continuous spark ignition system, ozone generators, electronic spelling checkers for African languages and the revolutionary JS1 glider that is currently being exported abroad.

NWU’s Campus was recently chosen by the South African Department of Science and Technology to co-host a Hydrogen Infrastructure Centre of Competence.

NWU offers two approved masters qualifications, namely the MEng and MSc in Nuclear Engineering and the campus is a partner in South Africa’s Pebble Bed Modular Reactor Project.

NWUs Institute for Industrial Pharmacy was appointed to partner in the distribution of anti-retroviral and other preventative medicines to developing companies by a 15-organisation consortium appointed by the American Department to Health.


There are eight faculties with more than 30 schools and centres incorporated into the eight faculties on campus:

  • Arts
  • Economic & Management Sciences
  • Education Sciences
  • Engineering
  • Health Sciences
  • Law
  • Natural Sciences
  • Theology

In addition to the above NWU has 20 research entities, 102 researchers rated by the National Research Foundation and boasts a physicist with the highest accreditation of an A1.


  • Mafikeng
  • Vaal Triangle

All the campuses have different fields of expertise. Potchefstroom Campus has Nuclear Engineering, Mafikeng is known for its approach to animal health and agricultural sciences and the Vaal Triangle Campus specialises in economic sciences and information technology. 


  • To be a pre-eminent University in Africa, driven by the pursuit of knowledge and innovation. 


  • The NWU’s mission is to become a balanced teaching-learning and research university and to implement its expertise in an innovative way. 
  • The institution will achieve as it lives its values, strives for sound management and pursues transformation, while being locally engaged, nationally relevant and internationally recognized. 


The NWU was established with the merging of two universities, the Potchefstroom University for Christian Higher Education and the University of the North-West, in January 2004. Staff and students from the Sebokeng Campus of Vista University were also incorporated into NWU.


Created: ; Last updated: