The Le Roux Town House Museum, which now forms part of the CP Nel Museum, was built in 1909. At the time farmers often built a townhouse in the nearest town to make over-night, or longer stays, feasible when it was necessary to travel away from their farms.
The town of Oudtshoorn was going through the second “ostrich feather boom” and money was no object for the wealthy Ostrich Farmer, John Le Roux. The town house was designed by one of Oudtshoorns’ best-known architects Charles Bullock and was built with modern innovations and only the best of imported and local materials. With its gracious opulence, the townhouse was one of the first in the town to boast an indoor bathroom and toilet, it stood out from all those around it as generally these sorts of townhouses were built simply and purely for a functional purpose.
The building was opened as a Townhouse Museum in June of 1979 after the CP Nel Museum bought the property and had extensive restoration done. The design had a distinct Art Nouveau influence which is noticeable in the colourful stained glass panels in the front door, bedroom doors and bedroom windows as well as in the glazed tiles of the bathroom and fireplace. The sandstone house is still furnished with most of the original furniture.
On the 22nd February 1980 the house was declared a National Monument.
There is a nominal admission fee, please contact the Museum directly to confirm prices.
Summer months, November to March will have average temperatures of between 16˚C and 32˚C with high rainfall in March and October/November.
Winter months, May to August will have average temperatures of between 5˚C and 20˚C with the lowest rainfall in June and July.
Commercial Airlines offer flights into George Airport, 56 km away from Oudtshoorn. Car hire facilities are located at the Airports.
Created: ; Last updated: