Discover South Africa
take your head out of the sand

The South Campus of NMMU was once the home of the University of Port Elizabeth and is now the main campus of NMMU. It is set on 830 ha that was donated to the university by the City Council of Port Elizabeth.

In 1983 the campus was declared a nature reserve and it is the only University to offer game drives on its campus. The campus is full of indigenous plants and beautiful gardens.

This is the main administration campus and is the largest of the six campuses with more than 11 000 students and five residences. 



  • School of Architecture
  • School of Governmental & Social Sciences
  • School of Language, Media & Culture
  • School of Music, Art & Design


  • School for Initial Teacher Education
  • School for Continuing Professional Development
  • School for Education Research & Engagement 

Health Science

  • School of Behavioural Sciences
  • School of Clinical Care Sciences
  • School of Lifestyle Sciences
  • School of Medicinal Sciences

 Engineering, the Built Environment & Information Technology

  • School of Engineering
  • School of Information and Communication Technology
  • School of the Built Environment

 Health Sciences

  • School of Behavioural Sciences
  • School of Clinical Care Sciences
  • School of Lifestyle Sciences
  • School of Medicinal Sciences


  • School of Bio-molecular & Chemical Sciences
  • School of Computer Science, Mathematics, Physics and Statistics
  • School of Environmental Sciences
  • School of Natural Resource Management

 Faculty of Law


To be a dynamic African university, recognised for its leadership in generating cutting-edge knowledge for a sustainable future.


To offer a diverse range of quality educational opportunities that will make a critical and constructive contribution to regional, national and global sustainability.


  • Excellence
  • Integrity
  • Respect for diversity
  • Respect for the natural environment
  • Taking responsibility
  • Ubuntu


 Notable alumni

  • Dave Richardson – ICC general manager and former Proteas cricket player
  • Adv. Kemp J Kemp – Jacob Zuma's lawyer
  • Eben Venter – Afrikaans novelist and master's graduate
  • Jenni Button – fashion designer
  • Andre Vos – former Springbok captain
  • Dr Bridgette Gasa – youngest member of the National Planning Commission
  • Garth Wright – former Springbok
  • Alan Knott-Craig (Jnr) – technology entrepreneur


  • There are 8 residences on this campus housing 1 270 students.
  • Hostel type 3 story building housing 39 students
  • Student Village houses of 1, 2, and 3 bedrooms, housing 120 students


  • 23 sporting codes
  • 24 hour security
  • Indoor aquatics centre
  • Laundry
  • Olympic-sized athletics track
  • Several Societies
  • Tuck Shops

Created: ; Last updated: