The Great Fish River Museum is a Cradock monument dedicated to the history of the hard lives of the pioneer settlers of the Middle Karoo. The Museum was declared a National Monument in 1971.
The Museum is housed in the building that was originally the second parsonage of the Dutch Reformed Church, built in 1849. The building still has its original yellowwood floor and its original ceilings. The garden is a typical example of a parsonage garden of 100 years ago.
The Museum building is located behind the Town Hall and the main building exhibits a substantial variety of historical items from 1820 to 1900, showcasing the history of Cradock, the 1820 Settlers and the Voortrekkers. The latest addition to the main building is a photographic display of Nelson Mandela and his life in the struggle for freedom. The out building known as the Coach House has items on display such as hearses, a typical ox-wagon and a four-horse cart.
A third building on the property, the Four Gallery comprises of a written and photo display on the history of Matthew Goniwe, Fort Calata, Sparrow Mkhonto and Sicelo Mhlauli the four “true hero’s” and well known activists from the area.
Please contact the Museum directly to confirm entrance fee.
Created: ; Last updated: