Clanwilliam is the 7th oldest town in South Africa and has many historical buildings and the Clanwilliam Museum is housed in just such one. Travel along the towns historical Main Road to find the old jail building in which the Museum is situated. The Museum is also known as the “Ou Tronk Museum” for this reason.
The building was built even before the assistant magistrate was appointed in the town in 1808, which was then called Jan Dissels Vallei. This fascinating museum holds the history of the area including all the inhabitants from the San up until the present. It also features the Agricultural history, in particular the production of Rooibos tea and Veldskoene (leather shoes).
There are a variety of historical artifacts, whether you want to learn more about the town and its families such as poet C.L. Leipoldt and comedian Tolla van der Merwe or just want to find out what tools and utensils the local bushman used, the Museum has it all. A guided tour of the town and its other historical buildings is available. The tour includes an 1820 settlers house, flower church and the original farm house of Jan Dissels.
There is no admission fee.
Created: ; Last updated: