Gateway to the Cederberg
Citrusdal, less than two hours from Cape Town, is located in the Olifants River Valley and offers a unique site of full of mountain trails, waterways, history, natural beauty and adventure.
This charming village is surrounded by farmland and it rich, fertile soil has made Citrusdal synonymous with its superior quality citrus fruits. Also grown in the valley are vegetables and rooibos tea and farmers keep cattle and sheep as well as make honey and wine from locally grown grapes. These same farms offer wonderful hiking trails, tastings, fabulous hospitality as well as much sort after solitude. The area is a haven for sports like golf and fishing with one of the best 9-hole golf course situated on the Olifants River, offering spectacular views of the Cederberg Mountains. The Olifants River allows Anglers to catch fish such as “Rooivlerkie”, the Clanwilliam Sand Fish and the Barnard’s “Klipbarber” which are not found anywhere else in the world.
During August and September the Namaqualand daisies will be in full bloom, exhibiting a colourful trail along the Flower Route where a number of scenic drives will lead you to historical sites like Signal Canyon or the oldest orange tree, now declared a national monument at over 250 years old.
Citrusdal and the surrounding area have plenty of Guesthouses, Lodges and self-catering units available as well as camping and caravanning facilities nearby.
Citrusdal receives approximately 334 mm of rain annually with the majority of its rainfall occurring during the winter months.
Summer months, November to March will have average temperatures of between 15˚C and 31˚C.
Winter months, May to August will have average temperatures of between 5˚C and 17˚C.
The area today known as Citrusdal was first explored back in 1660 when Jan van Riebeeck sent out a party of explores under the leadership of Jan Dankaert to find a route north toward the ‘Kingdom of Monomatapa”. Bushmen lead them across the mountains and through an area that is now the farm Modderfontein. Modderfontein became the first farm to be established in the valley and Jurgen Hanekom, who was granted the farm by the Dutch East India Company, built his kraal and a modest home and began farming cattle in order to supply meat to them.
By 1855 Thomas Bain began building the Grey’s Pass and James McGregor purchases the farm, opening a shop and trading store. The farm remained in his family for approximately 140 years. Between 1860 and 1918, a doctor arrives to practise from the farm, a policeman is stationed in the area and a building is modified to act as a jail. Travellers’ accommodation is also built and James McGregor became a very wealthy man.
The town of Citrusdal was established in 1916 when the Nederduits Gereformeerde Kerk built their Church on a portion of the Middlepost Farm in order to serve the upper Olifants River valley. A town council was established in 1957.
Created: ; Last updated: