Rust en Vreugd is located on Cape Town’s outer limits in Buitenkant Street, meaning “outer edge” in Afrikaans. Today it is a historic house and garden with Heritage classification as an art museum.The house was originally built for Cornelis Boers an official of the Dutch East India Company (VOC) who held the position of Fiscal. After Cornelis Boers left the property was occupied by various private citizens. Today it hosts the Iziko William Fehr Collection as its permanent collection. It is in close proximity to other attractions in Cape Town namely:
The house was built as a town house and stands as a fine example of 18th Century Cape Dutch urban architecture with its beautiful ornamental façade that gives the house its grandeur:
William was an Artist who in 1965 donated his Art On Paper collection to the Rust en Vreugd Museum consisting of:
Because of the sensitivity of the art medium of paper only a few of the works are in effect exhibited. This collection is important to Cape Town History as it represents the life and times of early Cape Town.
1711: Rust en Vreugtd was built for Cornelis Boers
1878 : The house was bought by the Dutch Reformed Church and turned into a Teachers Training College
1925 – 1957 : The house was home to Cape Town High School
1940 : Declared a Heritage site
1952 : William Fehr’s private collection for the first time at the Van Riebeeck Tercentenary Festival
1960s : House was converted into a gallery
1993 : More restorations were carried out and recently a disabled facility was installed
1965 : Willem Fehr art was exhibited
Please consult their website under Contact Details.
Created: ; Last updated: