Voortrekker Monument


Please note that the monument is closed to the public due to vandalisation

Winburg acted as a settlement and religious centre for Voortrekkers and was originally selected as the site for the main Voortrekker Monument. Instead Pretoria won favour and a five-tiered secondary Voortrekker monument was built on the outskirts of Winburg in 1968.

It carries the names of the Voortrekker leaders: Piet Uys, Andries Hendrik Potgieter, Andries Pretorius, Piet Retief and Gerhard Maritz.

On 16 December, the day on which the descendants of the Boer settlers celebrate the Battle of Blood River, the sun passes directly over the monument and a plaque with a Christian religious message at the base is illuminated.

The monument is built near the site of the birth-house of Martinus Theunis Steyn, who was president of the Boer Republic of the then 'Orange' Free State.

Geskep: ; Laas opgedateer: