Suurbraak is a tiny village located in the Langeberg Mountains just east of Swellendam along the N2 and R324, at the southern end of the Tradouw Pass. On the other side of the Pass you will reach Barrydale.
Suurbraak is a great escape from the busy city life – it is a former Mission village and is the most quaint, little town in the Overberg Region. It is a town with a rich history with many restored historical buildings, well the heart of the town to be fair, buildings that rest on the village square and the two church buildings have been restored. Most of the old style homes that line the street are sadly in need of some upkeep. If you wish to explore, visitors can go on guided walks of the town and the surrounding area. The town can also be explored via donkey cart – fun for the younger visitors.
Suurbraak is a hikers and bikers paradise. The walks/hikes include a river walk that runs parallel to the main road, the Oude Molen trail that takes you to a natural rock pool and the Fynbos Route which is famous for its proteas and the view of the town from the mountainside. Suurbraak is also known for its geological formations which include the Wonder Kloof.
The little village is considered one of the most beautiful in the Western Cape and can easily be termed as a little piece of heaven. A few of the farms in the area offer accommodation and there is one local B&B.
Things to do and see
- Original Mission Church
- Grysbok & Bushbuck Trails
- Oude Molen trail
- Fynbos Hiking Route
- Mountain Treasure Route
- Tradouw Pass
- Guided Quad Bike Trails on Route 62, 12 km
- Barrydale Cellars, 12 km
- Clarke of the Karoo Farm Stall, 13 km
- Bontebok National Park 18 km
Suurbraak receives approximately 496 mm of rain annually with rainfall occurring throughout the year.
Summer months, November to March will have average temperatures of between 16˚C and 29˚C.
Winter months, May to August will have average temperatures of between 7˚C and 21˚C.
There are daily flights into George Airport, to the East approximately 187 km’s away via the N2 and into Cape Town International Airport, to the West, approximately 232 km away. Car hire facilities are available at the Airport.
Suurbraak was established in 1812 when the London Missionary Society established a mission station to serve the Attaqua Khoikhoi. Later, in 1875 was taken over by the ‘Algemene Sending Kerk’. The original church, parsonage and school date back to 1828 and the cluster of cottages, which line either side of the road were constructed in 1883.
Suurbraak is also called Zuurbraak and Xairu. “Xairu” is the name given by the Attequa tribe before the Europeans settled here. Xairu means “beautiful” or “paradise”, a name quiet fitting for this little village.
Zuurbraak meaning ‘sour brake’, got its name from the thick racket ferns that still grow abundantly in the wetland area.
Uit ons gallery
Geskep: ; Laas opgedateer: