Discover South Africa
take your head out of the sand

The N12 is a national road in South Africa. It is maintained by the National Roads Agency (NRA). 


The road starts in George in the Western Cape and ends in Witbank in Mpumalanga. The road runs roughly from south to north, however, once it passes Kimberley in the Northern Cape, it gradually turns eastward. Only the section between Soweto and Witbank is a limited access dual motorway. The section between Klerksdorp and Potchefstroom is a dual carriage highway.

The road is approximately 1170 km long with Potchefstroom, Wolmaranstad, Christiana, Warrenton, Kimberley, Strydenburgh, Three Sisters, De Rust and Oudtshoorn enroute.

Created: ; Last updated: